Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification (CMMC) is a security protocol program devised by the U. S. Department of Defense (DoD) back in 2019. It is a certification process that lays out a contractor’s safety essentials.

Stats suggested that more than 65000 companies would have to comply with such certification in the forthcoming years. Therefore, having experienced IT Support, Irvine, is imperative, looking at its emerging importance.

CMMC is an assortment and a kind of addition to extant regulations. However, International Traffic in Arms Regulations (ITAR) will remain a distinct certification from CMMC – however, ITAR Compliant firms will also mandate to abide by CMMC.

CMMC Notables

  • Generically, there are five levels of the security maturity process rising from ascending order.
  • Unlike NIST, there is no self-evaluation. Therefore firms require to get authorized through qualified IT Services Irvine
  • Any firm that presently performs business with DoD will comply with CMMC – and that signifies direct DoD contractors and high-level CMMC firms’ supply chains should also adhere to, at minimum, ground-level essentials.
  • DoD would publicize all contractor’s certification level essentials.

Does CMMC influence my Firm?

This is readily responded with a 2-part query:

1) Is your firm a direct contractor to the DoD, or

2) Does your firm make a trade with a contractor to the DoD* firm?

If you replied “yes” to contest 1, your firm would require to be CMMC compliant. Likewise, if you replied “yes” to the second one, your firm will probably require CMMC compliance.

5 Levels CMMC

  • Level 1 – “Basic Cyber Hygiene”

This includes meeting the requirements of 48 CFR 52.204-21, antivirus, and more.

  • Level 2 – “Intermediate Cyber Hygiene”

This involves risk management, abiding by documented SOP, setting up Back-Up / Disaster Recovery (BDR), and furnishing user awareness and training.

  • Level 3 – “Good Cyber Hygiene”

This includes Multi-factor Authentication of the systems, security compliance with all NIST SP 800-171 Rev 1, and building security to fend against Advanced Persistent Threats (APTs).

  • Level 4 – “Proactive”

Level four includes network segmentation, mobile device inclusion, chamber detonation, use of DLP technologies, and more. It even comprises of setting up adequate security and embracing tactics and procedures.

  • Level 5 – “Advanced / Progressive”

Level 5 is all about device authentication, cyber maneuver operations, and organization-wide standardized implementation of security protocols. It even concerns 24/7 Security Operations Center (SOC) Operation and real-time assets tracking.

The most important thing about CMMC is that it requires certification from a licensed 3rd-party CMMC company, unlike NIST. Presently, most organizations can self-certify for DoD-related securities. However, it is still better to hire Managed IT Services in Irvine to ensure all needed requirements are duly met.

Final Words

So, do you have any queries related to CMMC? Or are you looking for help to efficiently make a way out? Or are you facing any other cybersecurity, compliance, or data issues? If yes, reach out to TechHeights today!

Categories: Compliance